On top of Magazine Gate

During the Siege of 1688-1689, there was a bastion at this section of the Walls, named Coward’s Bastion possibly because it was one of the points that was least bombarded by enemy cannon-fire.  It was removed by 1823.

Today this corner of the walls, at the foot of Magazine Street, has an impressive view over Guildhall Square and towards the River Foyle.

Londonderry is the only remaining completely walled city in Ireland and one of the finest examples of a walled city in Europe.

The walls are approximately 1.5km in circumference and form a walkway around the inner city providing a unique promenade that can be viewed three ways - from the outside, the inside or the top: each experience is entirely different and affords radically different perspectives.