1st Floor Pumphouse

Originally built to serve the Alexandra Graving Dock when it opened in 1889, the Pump-House was extended in its original design when the Thompson Graving Dock was built, allowing it to serve both docks when the latter opened in 1911. The Pump-House operated all functions of the dock and the size of the Thompson Dock necessitated machinery of massive proportions. 

The majority of the now listed building and its impressive machinery remains in its original condition, standing as an example of grand-scale Victorian/Edwardian engineering, and a testament to the ingenuity and enterprise of numerous individuals, many of whom were of Ulster-Scots pedigree.