Double Bastion

During the 1689 Siege, Jacobite guns positioned on the hills above the Bogside heavily bombarded this area and smashed off the top of the Wall.  King James’s cannon balls caused mayhem as they rolled across the bastion.  To counter this, the defenders constructed a line of large earth-filled baskets along the middle of the bastion to form a crash barrier behind which they could shelter.  This divided the area in two…hence the name Double Bastion.

Londonderry is the only remaining completely walled city in Ireland and one of the finest examples of a walled city in Europe. The walls are approximately 1.5km in circumference and form a walkway around the inner city providing a unique promenade that can be viewed three ways - from the outside, the inside or the top: each experience is entirely different and affords radically different perspectives.

The walls are also the newest city-walls in Europe and were built during the period 1613-1618 by The Honourable, The Irish Society as defences for early seventeenth century settlers from Scotland and England.